Sunday in Roosevelt Island

I know it’s been a long time that I haven’t written anything. Total silence… It’s not that I haven’t been anywhere worth mentioning; I guess it’s just laziness or lack of time to sit down and write. I have done so many things, many friends have visited me and I just didn’t have the time (or the mood) to sit down for a couple of hours to write something.

Even friends noticed and told me.

So, it is about time to get out of this personal lethargy and I will sit down a “write” a proper post. In order to take the numbness out,  here are some photos I took a couple of weeks ago that we went to Roosevelt Island. I had started writing this post but then, I-don’t-know-how-many-things came up and I never published it.

That was my first trip to Roosevelt Island. Roosevelt Island is a narrow island in the East River of New York City.  it is about two miles (3 km) long, with a maximum width of 800 feet (240 m). Technically, it is part of Manhattan (New York County). Once upon a time, it was called Blackwell’s Island, then Welfare Island, then it became Roosevelt Island.

How can we get there? Can we drive?

Yes. From Manhattan, you can get there via the 36th avenue Bridge.

Image

Can we take the subway?

Yes. The F line takes you to the Roosevelt Island. There is a “Roosevelt Island” stop.

Image

Is there any other way?

Yes. You can take the tram from Tram Plaza, 60th Street and 2nd Avenue. The closest New York City Subway station is the complex at Lexington Avenue / 59th Street (N Q R, 4, 5, 6 trains)

Image

Image

Image

I chose to take the tram. I think that’s part of the whole experience. I think this is one of the main reasons that people actually go to Roosevelt Island. I was above the East River for about 4 minutes. It felt a little bit weird but I was thinking that they keep doing this back and forth all day long, every 10 (or so) minutes. Every. Day.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

What can I do / see there?

Well, the first you’ve seen already; it’s the tram and the views above the East River.

Then, you can go to New York’s newest park: Southpoint Park.

The Octagon.

You can take the red bus from the tram stop (it cost 1 quarter each way) and get off at the last stop. It will not be difficult to recognize the Octagon. The Octagon used to be a hospital. You can enter and see the remodeled inside, but photos are not permitted.

Image

Image

We walked a little bit towards the North Point Lighthouse (which is supposed to be another of the “attractions”) but we never got there. But I was told you need to pass the hospital and then you will see it.

Instead, I saw a quite nice view of the water.

Image

After that, we took the bus back but we stopped one stop before the tram where there were a couple of restaurants. We had a burger at a common american bar. The burger was actually good, but the place and the service were not as much. Then we headed back to New York City, same way, taking the tram.

It is good if you try to stand on different sides on each trip so that you get to see different view each time.

Image

Image

Image

Image

In general, Roosevelt Island is a pleasant and calm tiny excursion on a weekend. Somehow, you feel almost out of the City while you are only 3 or 4 minutes from Midtown!!

– Testing NYC

P.S. The tram is wheelchair accessible. Bicycles are permitted on the tram.

One thought on “Sunday in Roosevelt Island

What do you think of Testing NYC? Places to recommend? Please share!

