Seals in New York? Is that even possible?

I was very, very, very surprised and amazed to find out that in New York there are seals! Can you even imagine? Seals!

And it’s not only that, wait; it’s getting even more exciting! There are seal cruises where you can view seal winter populations throughout Hempstead Bay!

I was searching online for a close getaway or a one day trip, when I found out.

Seal cruises depart from Freeport, Long Island, NY every Saturday and Sunday between November and April.

Image

The ticket for the cruise costs $26 for adults and $22 for kids that are between 3 and 12 years old (toddlers younger than 3 can go for free). The boarding time is at 12:30 pm and the ship sails at 1:00 pm.

The Captain Lou Fleet in Freeport, NY

From Freeport the ship heads to Hempstead Bay, where the seals go in search of food during Long Island’s coldest months:

Image

Reserve your spot in advance. For more information, you can click here.

I haven’t “tested” this yet, so I cannot recommend the cruise (yet). However, I would like to go really soon, it sounds really awesome and I am optimistic that it is going to be as amazing as it sounds! I will come back with a post after I go and I will try to take some photos.

Here are some photos from the The Riverhead Foundation for Marine Research and Preservation website:

Seal

Seals at Hempstead Bay

Captain Lou Fleet
28A Woodcleft Avenue
Freeport, NY 

-Testing NYC

P.S When you go, let me know!

What do you think of Testing NYC? Places to recommend? Please share!

